In the world of movies we all can dream.

The Three Musketeers (2011)


It’s safe to say that I’ve heard a lot of negative comments about this movie before watching it, but I wanted to see it anyway because Milla Jovovich is in it and I love her. I still prefer the older version with Charlie Sheen and the gang as that one had more of the fairy tale feel to it and was more than just an action flick. This version however does have better fencing scenes than my favorite but the story and movie as a whole wasn’t as good.

I found the French king kinda hillarious with his obsession to fashion and clumsyness. I remember commenting on D’Artagnan to my friend while wathing that I he looked more like a boy and that if anything romantic was gonna happend, would it be with a 12 year old girl ? Cause seeing him smootching with a woman would be werid… Anyway, I still think he did well in the fencing scenes tho so there is that…

I liked Milla in this movie, but I actually liked Rebecca DeMornay just as well in the older version. The difference between them is that Milla was more of a bad ass chick, kicking arse… whilest Rebecca was more devious and sneaky (and increadibly gorgeous). The Three Musketeers didn’t really have all that much personality in this one and neither did the Cardinal (even tho he was cast well, Christoph Waltz). Tim Curry was better tho, I seem to remember Tim got more screentime as well so I can’t blame Christoph on performance.

I guess the only characters I liked in this version was Milady de Winter, French King and Rochefort. Anyway, the movie was far from as bad as I expected it to be but it wasn’t all that memorable either… Entertaining tho, I was never bored.

..I rate this movie 6/10 stars..

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 260 other followers