In the world of movies we all can dream.

Dark Shadows (2012)


Due to my problems with anxiety I don’t really frequent the cinema like most people, but this movie I just had to see NOW. I’m a fan of Tim Burton and I’ve seen the trailer of this movie quite a few times as it is awesome. I had very high hopes for this movie actually… thought I’d finally find the next Beetlejuice… Sadly it didn’t quite get there but it was still entertaining and had it’s moments.

My favorite character in the movie was Carolyn, she should in my opinion have gotten way more screen time… then again I guess her loner hermit tendencys might not have been suited for any more screentime… still, loved her the most…. And then there was the ghost of that kids mother which so gave me chills when she screamed… That scene was totally awesome.

I think this is one of Johnny’s weaker characters or simply to similar to the mad hatter. I didn’t really find him all that believable as a Vampire. The hand gestures used to hypnotize the victims was simply overdoing it. A dead stare should be more than enough. To put it all in short terms, not Tim Burton’s strongest work but I still found it entertaining and never boring. I just expected a bit …. more.

..I rate this movie 5/10 stars..

2 responses

  1. Lately Depp has been more into characters that require lots of make-up and a funny voice than ones that have heart. Hope he returns to subtler work.

    13. May 2012 at 19:48

  2. Thanks for the update, I’m going to see the movie tomorrow and I’m looking forward to it :)

    13. May 2012 at 20:08

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 257 other followers